Japan Data Archive

About Japan > Life and Customs > 

What are the twelve zodiac signs?

The signs come from dividing time and direction into 12 blocks, each being given the name of an animal based on the ancient Chinese concept that time moves based on these 12 units.
In Japan, most people are familiar with this 12-year cycle and the series of 12 animals, one allotted to each year.
The 12 animals are: mouse, cow, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, bird, dog, and boar, each determining the character and destiny of a person born in that year.