Japan Data Archive

About Japan > Japanese Culture > 

What sites in Japan have been designated as World Heritages by UNESCO?

In order to save nature and the history of humans tor future generations, UNESCO designates certain natural areas, ancient buildings and ruins as World Heritages.
The number of such sites is now close to 800.
As of July 2004, the following sites have received this desnation in Japan.
(Parentheses show location and date desisnated.)

Natural Heritage
Shirakami-Sanchi (Aomori prefecture, Akita prefecture, December 1993)
Yakushima (Kagoshima prefecture, December 1993)

Cultural Heritage
Buddhist Monuments in the Horyuji Area (Nara prefecture, December 1993)
Himeji-jo (Hyogo prefecture, December 1993)
Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto (Kyoto, Uji and Otsu Cities、December 1994)
Historic Villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama (Gifu prefecture. Toyama prefecture, December 1995)
Itsukushima Shinto Shrine (Hiroshima prefecture. Decernber 1996)
Hiroshima Peace Memorial (Genbaku Dome) (Hiroshima prefecture, December 1996)
Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara (Nara prefecture, December 1998)
Shrines and Temples of Nikko (Tochigi prefecture, Decernber 1999)
Gusuku Sites and Related Properties of the Kingdom of Ryukyu (Okinawa prefecture, December 2000)
Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range (Nara prefecture, Wakayama prefecture, Mie prefecture, July 2004)

Intangible Heritage
Nogaku Theatre (May 2001)
Bunraku (November 2003)