Japan Data Archive

About Japan > Japanese Culture > 

Who are Japan's Nobel laureates?

Japan's first Nobel laureate was Yukawa Hideki.
He received a Nobel prize in physics tor his Chukanshi riron no kenkyu (Study of Meson Theory) in 1949, giving hope to the Japanese people crushed by their defeat in the war.
Yukawa was followed by Tomonaga Shinichiro in 1965 and Esaki Reona in 1973, who were both awarded No bel prizes in physics; and then Fukui Kenichi, who was awarded a Nobel prize in chemistry in 1981 and Tonegawa Susumu, who was awarded a Nobel prize in physiology and medicine in 1987, thus demonstrating to the rest of the world Japan's excellence in science and technology.
Wiinners of Nobel prizes include Shirakawa Hideki in 2000 and Ryoji Noyori in 2002 for chemistry: and in 2002, Koshiba Masatoshi received the physics prize and Tanaka Koichi the chemistry prize.
Especially notable was Tanaka Koichi, a researcher in a mid-sized private company, who won the hearts of the Japanese people for his simple personality.
Outside the fields of science and technology, former Prime Minister Sato Eisaku received the Nobel Peace prize in 1974.
Kawabata Yasunari received the Nobel prize for literature in 1968: he was the author of such works as Snow Country and The Izu Dancer.
In 1994 Oue Kenzaburo received the Nobel prize in literature.
Amone his works are Hiroshima Note and The Silent Cry.